Fanshawe Athletics Announces 2018-19 Award Winners


(London, Ontario) – Fanshawe Athletics announced today that Jade Kovacevic (Soccer) has been named Fanshawe's Female Athlete of the Year and that David Gundrum (Volleyball) has been named Fanshawe's Male Athlete of the Year.  The announcement was made as part of the 52nd Annual Fanshawe Athletics Awards Banquet held in the Oasis Student Centre at Fanshawe College.  The 2018-19 season saw the Falcons bring home a combined 28 Provincial and National medals, setting a new Fanshawe record for the most medals won in a season.


Female Athlete of the Year: Jade Kovacevic – Kovacevic dominated the OCAA and CCAA this season. The 4th year striker from Acton, ON was named the OCAA Player of the Year and the OCAA Championship MVP as the Fanshawe Women's Soccer team recorded their first provincial championship in nine years. Kovacevic led the Falcons to a perfect 10-0 regular season and set the Fanshawe record for most career goals (79), and OCAA records for most goals in a season (30) and most goals in a game (9). Her 30 goals led the nation and were double the amount of the second leading scorer in the CCAA. She was also named a CCAA All-Canadian and the CCAA Women's Soccer Player of the Year, the first time a Fanshawe soccer student-athlete has ever won the award. She was named as a CCAA Tournament All-Star after leading the Falcons to a national bronze medal. Kovacevic led the national tournament in scoring, including notching a blistering five goals in the quarterfinal match. This is the second time that Kovacevic has been honoured as Fanshawe's Female Athlete of the Year (2015-16).


Male Athlete of the Year: David Gundrum – The 5th year student-athlete from Port Elgin, ON, has played every role throughout his Falcons career. Team captain, defensive quarterback, serve-receive quarterback, calming presence and this year, all-star. Over the past five years, Gundrum led by example on the court and in the classroom. He saved his best season for last, leading the team in digs and passing quality and earning himself an OCAA Second Team League All-Star enroute to a provincial gold medal. He then helped the Falcons to their first-ever National Championship, where he was named a CCAA First Team Tournament All-Star and was the Player of the Match in the national final, his final game as a Falcon. The Falcons completed a historic perfect 25-0 season as Gundrum completed his Fanshawe career with an incredible 7 medals: 1 OCAA bronze, 3 OCAA gold medals, 1 CCAA bronze, 1 CCAA silver and this year's CCAA gold medal.


In addition to the Athletes of the Year, the following student-athletes were also award recipients:


Les Zoltai Award – Meghan Morelli (Volleyball)

Jim Matchett Memorial Scholarship – Danielle Grasman (Volleyball) and Sebastian Lethbridge (Volleyball)

Female Overall Rookie of the Year – Alyssa Stoddart (Golf)

Male Overall Rookie of the Year – Ben Vyfschaft (Soccer)

Mike Lindsay Leadership Award – Morgan Johanson

World Transplant Games Legacy Badminton Award – Helen Ngu

The Fowler Kennedy Varsity Award – Claire Dechet (Basketball)


CCAA Academic All-Canadians:

Danielle Grasman (Volleyball)

Meghan Morelli (Volleyball)

Sebastian Lethbridge (Volleyball)

James Jackson (Volleyball)

Helen Ngu (Badminton)

Laura Vere (Basketball)

Kaitlyn Poirier (Curling)


Cross Country Running:

Female Most Valuable Runner – Sammi-Jo Burch

Male Most Valuable Runner – Justin Verburg

Male Rookie of the Year – Miguel Robles



Female Most Valuable Player – Alyssa Stoddart

Female Rookie of the Year – Alyssa Stoddart

Male Most Valuable Player – Braydon White

Male Rookie of the Year – Colin Warren



Female Most Valuable Player – Han Pham

Female Rookie of the Year – Melanie Wade

Male Most Valuable Player – Micah Yanke

Male Rookie of the Year – Kevin Wong


Women's Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Jade Kovacevic

Rookie of the Year – Robyn Scott


Men's Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Bradley Heath

Rookie of the Year – Ben Vyfschaft


Women's Softball:

Most Valuable Player – Samantha Fuller

Rookie of the Year – Nichole Erb


Men's Baseball:

Most Valuable Player – Kale Bilger

Rookie of the Year – Ty Armstrong


Women's Volleyball:

Most Valuable Player – Meghan Morelli

Rookie of the Year – Ashley Rafferty


Men's Volleyball:

Most Valuable Player – David Gundrum

Rookie of the Year – James Pratt


Women's Basketball:

Most Valuable Player – Chuot Angou

Rookie of the Year – Jessica Jordan


Men's Basketball:

Most Valuable Player – Chris Parker

Rookie of the Year – Carter Hawthornthwaite


Women's Indoor Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Chelsea Zavitz

Rookie of the Year – Kaitlyn Smit


Men's Indoor Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Alberto Barquin

Rookie of the Year – Ryan Miners



Female Most Valuable Player – Kaitlyn Poirier

Female Rookie of the Year – Lauren Massey

Male Most Valuable Player – Tyler Twining

Male Rookie of the Year – Owen McMillan